What You'll Learn: This article is intended for Editors of the Operational Budgeting module. It explains what you need to know to save versions in the Worksheet.
When to Read This: Read this article after making edits to the budget in the Worksheet or when you need to capture the budget's data in for a specific moment in time.
Although changes you make to your Operational Budget are saved automatically, using the Save Version feature allows you to refer back to your budget at a moment in time, prepare your budget for Collaborators, and export your budget for use in other modules.
Save a Version
- To save a version of your budget, select the Save Version button. Saving a version can be done at any time during your budgeting process: in an open request round, before or after a round, and to save stages/phases of your budget.
- Select + Save a New Version.
- Give this saved version a unique name. For example, Baseline from Finance 9.2.26. You can also select a Label to help visually represent the version within the Worksheet. Note: When saving a version for the first time, you will only be able to save a Baseline version, which represents a financial baseline for the fiscal year.
- Select the Save Version button.
The new column will be added to the left of the Projected and In Progress columns on the Worksheet with all the edits you previously made.
Pro-Tip: Saving a version during an open request round could be useful if you import from the Personnel or Capital budgets in an open request round, or if you want to save all initial requests from the department heads before you start your approval process.
Edit or Delete a Saved Version
- Manually saved versions can be edited or deleted. To edit the description name of an editor-saved version select the Pencil icon. Once you are done editing the description, select the checkmark to save the new description name.
- To delete an editor-saved version, select the Trashcan icon.
Replace an Existing Version
- To overwrite values in an existing version, select the Replace an Existing Version option from the Save Version dropdown.
- Choose the version you'd like to replace. Overwriting will publish the new values over the chosen version instead of publishing a new column. Note: By default, the most recently saved version is selected.
Note: When replacing an existing version, linked versions in Digital Budget Book will automatically update.
Ready to Learn More?
- Check out: Understanding Versions in Your Budget.
- Read more about: Budget Version Labels.
Have more questions or need assistance?
Submit a Request