For administrators of Disclosure Studio, creating and managing workflows is a critical task when getting started in the system and throughout the project management cycle. Located in the Settings menu under Workflows, these configurations enable administrators to establish and track the processes required to successfully complete and finalize reports. They also limit actions (access, edit, approve) to the right users in the right sections reduces errors and unauthorized changes.
Select a section of the article below to navigate directly to it.
Create Workflows Walkthrough
Select Next to move through the guide. You can also zoom in and out of the image by selecting the Magnifying Glass in the bottom right-hand corner. You can view the full guide by selecting the External Link icon.
Step-by-Step Instructions
Navigate and Create
- Click Settings
- Click Workflows
- Click Create new Workflow Template
- Enter a Name for the Workflow and a Description of what it is for.
- When ready, select Create Template.
-
Select your Workflow that you just created to begin building.
- Note: The template will initially say "Invalid" because it has not been fully set up.
Add Steps to the Workflow
- Click "Add Step" to begin.
- Under the Step tab, configure the step by giving it a name, description and even changing the color as needed.
-
Under the Rules tab, you can select who can edit and view at this step of the workflow.
- Note: You can select individual users or a group you have created.
- Select Add Step when you're ready to confirm. Continue to "Add Steps" as needed to build out your workflow.
Add Transitions between Steps
-
When ready, Select Add Transition to connect the steps.
- Note: You will need to add transitions to connect all steps built.
- Select a source step and a target step to build a transition from one step to the other.
- Optional: Enter a Transition Name, Description and Format the Transition as needed.
- Optional: Select Conditions to disable certain users from being included in the transition if they have permissions on the Source Step.
- Click "Add Transition" when you're ready to create the Transition.
Add End Points and Save the Workflow
- Click "Select Endpoints" to finalize the workflow.
- Select the First Step and Last Step of the Workflow.
- Click "Apply" when ready.
- Click "Save Workflow"
If your workflow is fully connected and set up appropriately, the dot next to Save Workflow will turn green. The workflow will also read "Active" in green on the template card.
Note: Edits to a workflow do not save automatically. We recommend saving as you build.
Manage Workflows Walkthrough
Select Next to move through the guide. You can also zoom in and out of the image by selecting the Magnifying Glass in the bottom right-hand corner. You can view the full guide by selecting the External Link icon.
Step-by-Step Instructions
Navigate and Edit an Existing Workflow
- Click "Settings"
- Click Workflows.
- Select any template to edit the existing Workflow.
- Select Save Workflow after making changes.
Copy a Template
- To Copy a Template, click the Copy icon.
- Edit the Template Name and Description and select "Create Copy" to save it.
Edit a Template
- To edit the name and description at any time, click the Edit icon for a template.
- Click "Save Changes" once you've edited.
Delete a Template
- To delete a template, select the Delete icon.
- Click "Yes, Delete template" when ready to delete.
Troubleshooting
Issue: Workflow is still listing as inactive
Solution: Check the workflow to ensure each step is connected by a transition and that the end points are set. If this is the case, please email our Support team.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q: How many steps can I add or should I add to a Workflow?
A: The limit does not exist! There is no limit to the number of steps you can add in a workflow.
Have more questions or need assistance?
Submit a Request