Learn to create, manage, edit, and delete user groups in Disclosure Studio. Groups organize users with shared permissions. Administrators can add users, assign or modify permissions, search and filter groups, and delete groups permanently. Users retain combined individual and group permissions, while Workflow permissions override other access settings.
Select a section of the article below to navigate directly to it.
Create a Group Walkthrough
Select Next to move through the guide. You can also zoom in and out of the image by selecting the Magnifying Glass in the bottom right-hand corner. You can view the full guide by selecting the External Link icon.
Step-by-Step Instructions
Create a Group
- Click Settings.
- Click User Management.
- Select the Groups tab.
- Click Create group
-
Type Group Name into the group name field and add a description in the Comment box to help you know the purpose of the group.
- Note: You may need to click outside the fields to apply your edits.
- Click Create to create the group.
- Click the Edit icon for the new group to add users.
- Select the Add Users drop down.
-
Select individual users to add them to the list OR click Select All to select all Users at once.
- Note: You may need to click outside the list of users to close it.
- Click Edit to confirm the users to be added to the group.
Add Group Permissions
- To add a Group’s Permissions, select the Key icon.
- Select any of the Permission tabs to see and select the permissions available.
-
Select a Permission Category to select all individual permissions or individually select specific permissions as needed for the group.
- Note: If an option below a Permission Category (Report as an example) is selected, the Permission Category will be selected by default. If you deselect a Permission Category, you will revoke all corresponding permission options.
- Click Apply when ready to confirm the new permissions.
Manage Groups Walkthrough
Select Next to move through the guide. You can also zoom in and out of the image by selecting the Magnifying Glass in the bottom right-hand corner. You can view the full guide by selecting the External Link icon.
Step-by-Step Instructions
Navigate to and Search for Groups
- Click Settings
- Click User Management
- Select the Groups tab.
- Filter for specific groups by selecting the Filter icon. Once selected, you can then search and filter within each column of group data.
- You can also search directly for groups as needed in the Search bar in the upper right hand corner of the table.
Edit a Group
- Select the Edit (pencil) icon to edit group details and its users.
- To finalize your changes, select Edit.
Edit Group Permissions
- To edit a Group’s Permissions, select the Key icon.
- Select any of the Permission tabs to see and select the permissions available.
-
Select a Permission Category to select all individual permissions or individually select specific permissions as needed for the group.
- Note: If an option below a Permission Category (Report as an example) is selected, the Permission Category will be selected by default. If you deselect a Permission Category, you will revoke all corresponding permission options.
- Click Apply when ready to confirm the new permissions.
Delete Groups
- To Delete a group, select the Trash icon.
- Click Yes, Delete when ready to delete a group.
Note: You cannot recover a deleted group. You would need to recreate the group.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q: What is the difference between creating a user and a group?
A: User management is made of both Users and Groups. Users are individual accounts created to allow other team members to collaborate within Disclosure Studio. They can be created with an Email Address and a Password or set up with Single Sign-On (SSO). Groups are made up of individual users and are meant to help organize users into collaborative teams to execute tasks with similar permissions. Once you add a user or create a group of users, you will be able to manage their permissions.
Q: If a user has different permissions in their individual user and within a group, will they lose or gain any permissions?
A: If a person has different permissions as an individual user and as a group user, they will have all permissions from both the group and their individual user account. However, if a group or user is assigned to a Workflow step, they will be able to access and view any assigned report sections that are on that specific step. The Workflow permissions will override the individual user or group permissions.
Have more questions or need assistance?
Submit a Request